Small Faith

As I’ve learned, faith does not mean you will always be brave. Oh you can even be scared s***less and still have faith. Sorry but I just had to say that exact word.

I believe faith is not just about trusting God that He CAN, but also knowing that He WILL. Whatever you’re going through right now, however terrible it may seem, BELIEVE that God is there and He knows your steps. He is shaping you, molding you through trials and tribulations, so you may know that your strength comes from Him alone and with that strength you can be His light and a helping-hand to others.

I remember when my cousin was a little boy, 4 or 5 years old, I used to take him out whenever I had the chance. One day we were at the mall and suddenly he ran and went up to a stage, and then—without warning and without looking back—he jumped! Of course I was close to him and I caught him. Afterwards I asked him, “Why did you jump like that? Weren’t you scared? You could fall back there!” He replied with the cutest smile, “Why should I be scared? You were there!” Ha! I felt a sudden slap-in-the-face like the ones they have in cartoon movies.

So that’s why God wants us to have faith like a little child; all it takes for a child is to know you’re there and he couldn’t care less of his surroundings, because he knows you’re near and you won’t leave him. That’s just the way God wants us to be. No matter what we’re facing, He wants us to not be afraid and be at peace and know He is always there and will never leave us – even if sometimes we feel like He’s not there. But we can’t trust our feelings. We can’t trust our situations. Yes we should acknowledge the difficulties we’re facing, admit that we can’t do it alone and we need God. But then we should put our trust in God, on His Word, not letting the world drag us to depression and self-pity.

Now hold your horses folks. If you think I’m just saying those stuff up there, you are wrong. I can’t tell you in details what I’ve been through, but I can tell you that I’ve seen the darker side of hell. And if I am still here today, alive and well, it’s all because of God’s love, mercy and grace. It’s also because He never gives up on me, even though I did that to Him.

The Bible says if you have faith as a mustard seed, you can move mountains. I’m sure all of you know mustard seeds and how small they are. But as I have studied mustard seeds, they’re not just small, they’re tiny. Wow. Just think about it – Jesus didn’t ask us to have faith as big as an avocado seed, but as small as a mustard seed (you can see the difference between these two in the picture below). I believe it’s because He wants us not to look at how small our faith is, but how big our God is.

I can only encourage you to let go (of your problems) and let God (fix them). NEVER think you’re too far or too evil for God to reach. And don’t be too hard on yourself. I was like that. Yet now I can boldly say I am a living example of one of the vilest sinners who was cleansed by the Blood of Jesus.

So now you decide, whether you want to have faith in God and trust that He is in control even though you can’t see half of the step in front of you, or you’re going to try it your way. The choice is yours.

“He replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” – Matthew 17: 20 / New International Version (NIV)

::e::

[April 8, 2012]

Leave a Reply

