Much Given = Much Required (Unedited)

“For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall be much required: and to whom men have committed much, of him they will ask the more.” – Luke 12:48 / KJV (King James Version)

I’m sure we all know this verse.

I confess, in the past I took this verse lightly.

Once, I even asked God, “How much is the “much” that You can actually require of me, Lord?”

I should not have asked Him that.

I learned that “God has given me much” in various ways; in good times, not-so-good times, bad times and worst of times. I had the amazing experience of “living large” when my father was still alive, but now that I’m living “not-so-large”, turns out God has given me even more than before. Strange huh? Well, it appears that it’s not only based on material things; it also has a lot to do with responsibilities given, talents used and characters developing.

I’m learning that God is shaping me to be the person He wants me to be, not the one I thought I would be. You know, funny thing is, since I grew up with mostly male members in my family, I thought I’d remain a tough chick, kind of like Xena, minus the somewhat medieval apparel. Man, I was SO wrong. As I got to know Him more, God replaced my old heart with a new one; I became the TOTAL OPPOSITE of what I was like before–without erasing my “default” character setting, of course. Even some family members and close friends thought I was joking around when they saw the changes in me. But God never jokes around. Not when it concerns the heart.

In “Ever After: A Cinderella Story”, the Queen says to her son, Prince Henry, “You were born to privilege and with that comes specific obligations.” With us, who are born again in Christ, it is the same. Not only will we have the blessings, miracles, signs and wonders God has in store for us, but we also need to share the Gospel and be His witness so that others will know Christ and many souls can be saved. It doesn’t have to be on a pulpit in a big church; we can be His light by showing the Truth in our lifestyles and the choices we make; at home, school, work, basically everywhere.

I was the first in my family who received Christ as Lord and Savior. That was definitely a privilege. And it struck me that that was the basic reason why God put huge responsibilities on me and requires much from me. Either I saw it as a burden, or an honor. I chose the latter. But it’s not always easy.

One time, I planned to fly to Singapore and go to “The Lord of the Rings Motion Picture Trilogy: The Exhibition”. If you were a massive fan, live in Indonesia and that exhibition was the only one held in Asia and you can see the actual props and costumes used in the movies plus the special effects demonstrations and “making of” documentary videos, you’d DEFINITELY see it as a miracle and of huge importance to go there. I had everything I needed to go.

A few days before I left, my Dad got seriously ill. It wasn’t easy, but I dropped everything, stayed home and helped my Mum took care of my Dad. Turned out Mum really needed my physical strength to help take care of Dad. Thank God He gave me strong arms; every day I helped Mum pull Dad up to sit and eat, also to turn his body when I had to bathe him or clean the wound on his back. Even helped the doctor changed his IV. Though it was heart-breaking to see him like that, I’m so glad I chose to stay with him and Mum, because not long after that, he passed away. So I had the—can’t seem to find another word but—privilege and memories to cherish all my life. I count it as a great honor that God gave me the chance and ability to take care of my father on his last days, and I am content knowing I did the right thing.

Brothers and sisters, take heed; God’s love NEVER fails and He NEVER lies. If He says He requires much from those who are given much, then you CAN do it.

Really?

Yes.

Numbers 23:19, “God is not human, that He should lie; not a human being, that He should change his mind. Does He speak and then not act? Does He promise and not fulfill?”

::e::

Leave a Reply

