My Unexpected Journey

185351340885718764_kMUoHJSo_c

“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”

I have waited a long time for this movie. Not just a year, more like 9 years. Been waiting for Peter Jackson to make this movie ever since I saw “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy. I just knew that only PJ can make Tolkien movies and when I read that he was going to make “The Hobbit” AND he was going to make it into a trilogy, I was SO sure he wouldn’t let us Ringers down.

“The Hobbit” turned out AH-MAZING. The movie, cast, script, music, all of them were perfect. It was EPIC. I first went to see the movie with who else but my Mum, since she’s the only person who understands my enthusiasm for Tolkien and his works. It wasn’t a smooth journey though. First we went to this theater and after a long queue and I was just a few steps away from buying the tickets, they sold out! Then we went straight to another theater–a bit far from where we live–and thank the Lord we got the tickets!!!

IMG-20121216-01936

Then when the time came for us to go inside the studio, my heart was pumping so fast because of the excitement of the moment and going inside Studio 1 was like entering Middle-earth…

IMG-20121216-01937

They gave us the 3D glasses inside and I was super excited…

IMG-20121216-01941

And so the journey began.

When the movie started and I heard Howard Shore’s “My Dear Frodo”, I couldn’t help but cry. To me this was not just a movie – it was a brilliant collaboration between Tolkien and PJ and his team. It didn’t feel like I come to the studio, it felt like I returned to Middle-earth. And seeing the old Bilbo, Frodo, Gandalf, Elrond, Galadriel, even Saruman made me feel at home, especially when I saw Bag End and the Shire – feel at home indeed!

243124079855589675_ppTP5WuR_c

The movie itself was superb, the details were awesome; loved hearing Elvish, Dwarvish and Black Speech/Orkish again. Of course you can’t expect it has all the stuff like it is in the book, but I believe PJ and his team did their utmost best to make Ringers and others feel the connection with Tolkien.

And may I say that New Zealand IS Middle-earth. Period.

On a side note – dropped my jaw on the floor when I saw Kili, Fili and Thorin…kudos for PJ and his team for making Dwarves look super hot!

346214290073894280_GW9CRRGk_c

Can’t wait for the next two – “The Desolation of Smaug” and “There and Back Again”!

(Maybe even “The Silmarillion” somewhere in 2015?)

::e::

Leave a Reply

