Unconditional Love

Go ahead and drive the nails in My hands
Laugh at me where you stand
Go ahead and say it isn’t Me
The day will come that you will see

‘Cause I’ll rise again
There ain’t no power on earth that’ll keep me down
Yes, I’ll rise again
Death can’t keep Me in the ground

Go ahead and mock My name
My love for you is still the same
Go ahead and bury Me
But very soon, I’ll be free

Because I’ll rise again
There ain’t no power on earth that’ll keep me down
Yes, I’ll rise again
Death can’t keep Me in the ground

Go ahead and say I’m dead and gone
But you will see that you were wrong
Go ahead and try to hide the Son
But all will see that I’m the One

Because I’ll come again
There ain’t no power on earth that’ll keep Me back
Yes, I’ll come again
Come to take My people back

* * *

I just heard this song for the first time today on YouTube. I was actually looking for Salvador’s “David Danced”; after I found it and watched it, somehow my eyes were drawn to another video…and it was this one, “Rise Again”, by Salvador’s Nic Gonzales.

As you can see  from the lyrics above, this song is about Jesus saying these words to the people who crucified Him, mocked Him, who didn’t believe that He is the Son of God. Tears didn’t stop falling from my eyes from the beginning until the end of the song; Nic sang it beautifully and from the heart, and I felt God’s love throughout this song. This is a beautiful song, with a powerful message.

But the words that really got me was when Jesus said, “Go ahead…“. Imagine you were the Son of God, did absolutely nothing wrong and were sentenced to die on a cross. Don’t forget those painful whips, that crown of thorns and those non-stop mockings thrown at you loud and clear.  What would you do? Let me tell you what I would do. If I was the Son of God and had to endure all those things, I would’ve come down from that cross and make sure those people suffer slowly to Kingdom come. (Sorry, I’m just being honest)

Yet here Jesus said, “Go ahead…” – which means He literally let those people do whatever; mock Him, torture Him, crucify Him, bury Him.

And they did.

Even then Jesus said, “My love for you is still the same.

Society tells us, when someone hurts us, we shouldn’t be nice to them and when someone gave us hell, we should never forgive them, let alone love them. But Jesus did neither. He didn’t have an attitude towards the people who hurt Him and He forgave them for all the painful, cruel and disturbing things they did to Him. I CANNOT fathom THAT. I seriously cannot. But I’m glad He showed them what love really means.

Personally, I can’t imagine after all the awful things I did in the past which hurt Him and were definitely rebellious against Him, He still loves me just the same. Already have teary-eyed just writing that last sentence. It is most definitely a privilege to be forgiven by a loving God, to be chosen to serve a living God and especially to be able to call Him “Father”.

No words can ever express my gratitude, but I know two words that define what both God the Father and Jesus have: UNCONDITIONAL LOVE.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16 / New International Version (NIV)

::e::

Leave a Reply

